Review of The Girls by Emma Cline

Hi Everyone! I just wanted to apologize for the lack of posts lately. I had a nasty sinus infection and subsequent allergic reaction that left me with little energy to do anything other than sleep. But now, I’m fully recovered and ready to bring you more reviews. Thank you so much for being patient with me and without further ado, here is my review of The Girls by Emma Cline:

The Girls by Emma Cline follows the story of Evie Boyd who is a rather lonely teenager that is struggling to find herself. She becomes absolutely mesmerized by an older girl named Suzanne who leads a seemingly carefree life on a commune in the outskirts of town. Much to Evie’s surprise, this all loving group that she quickly becomes entangled with would become infamous for committing a heinous act of violence that would change her life forever.

This novel is truly unlike anything I’ve ever read before. Emma Cline’s unique descriptions easily transported me to an era I had only heard about in passing from my parents. Her language also managed to created an aura of eeriness that shaped the entire mood and flow of the story. Furthermore, the relationship between Suzanne and Evie was absolutely exquisite and clearly depicts just how captivating even the most toxic relationship can be. Cline expertly highlights Suzanne’s fragile self-assuredness and calculated caring moments which allow the reader to both recognize her toxicity and understand how these same aspects made her unconditionally entrancing to someone like Evie.

However, what truly impressed me the most about this novel was the multidimensionality of Evie’s voice. Cline juxtaposes the naive, outward-flowing thoughts and actions Evie with a much wiser, inner monologue that she seems to ignore until she is slapped in the face with what Suzanne and the rest of this cult were capable of. These contrasting perspectives are what humanize Evie and ultimately make her character jump off the page and into the reader’s heart.

Ultimately, I was pleasantly surprised by this novel and thoroughly enjoyed the writing style of Emma Cline. I look forward to reading more of her work! Let me know in the comments below what you thought of The Girls and thanks again for being patient with me!!

4 out of 5 stars

26893819.jpg

Leave a Reply

