Happy New Year/Review of A Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman

Happy New Year Everyone! With 2016 being a less than stellar year, I wanted to start 2017 with good vibes and of course good reads. This week, I’ll be bringing you reviews on the three books that made my transition into the new year absolutely perfect: A Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman, When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi, and Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates. These are honestly three of the best books that I’ve read and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you all!

****

After experiencing quite the reading hangover after I finished The Wonder, the only thing that could bring me out of it was the beautiful prose of Frederik Backman’s A Man Called Ove. This novel is about an elderly Swedish gentleman named Ove who is described as “the bitter neighbor from hell.” He starts his days with a daily inspection of his neighborhood and does not hold back when people are not following the rules or doing things up to his standards. However, when a young couple moves next door to Ove and accidentally knocks over Ove’s mailbox with their moving van, a rather unexpected friendship begins and truly changes Ove’s solitary and cranky ways.

To put it simply, Frederik Backman can do no wrong by me. Every single word he writes captivates me and A Man Called Ove was no different. Ove is the most lovable of curmudgeons. The pace at which Backman reveals Ove’s past and the true colors of his character is perfect and simply made my love for him grow with each turn of the page. Furthermore, I loved how dynamic each of the supporting characters were. I could easily picture Parvaneh waddling into Ove’s house unannounced or the “Blonde Weed” shrieking about Ove’s newly adopted cat swatting at her dog because Backman truly creates characters that leap off the page.

A Man Called Ove is a truly heartwarming tale. Backman perfectly captures how love, loss, and true friendship can shape an individual. If you’re looking for a book that will make you laugh out loud, cry, and leave you with a new appreciation for life in general, then I strongly encourage you to pick up a copy of A Man Called Ove (or any Backman masterpiece for that matter!)

Let me know your thoughts on A Man Called Ove in the comments below and check back on Thurs for my review of When Breath Becomes Air!

5 out of 5 stars

18774964.jpg

Leave a Reply

