Review of The Guise of Another by Allen Eskens

The Guise of Another is Allen Eskens’ second book (which I accidentally read third), which is centered around an identity theft case that falls into the lap of Detective Alexander Rupert at a rather trying time in his life. He has been temporarily reassigned to the Fraud Unit, pending his appearance in front of a grand jury for corruption charges. As this cases evolves into much more than a typical identity theft case, Alexander’s quest for a key piece of evidence make him trained assassin Drago Basta’s next target. As things begin to spiral out of control, it is up to Alexander’s brother, Detective Max Rupert to try and clean up the mess that this investigation unleashes.

Maybe it is because I read the books out of order and was coming off the high of The Heavens May Fall, but this book was a bit of a disappointment for me. Part of the reason I have been particularly drawn to Eskens’ books in the past is his ability to create a cast of beautifully flawed characters that you can’t help but root for. However, with Alexander’s corruption charges and otherwise shady behavior that continues throughout the book, I found it hard to find him deserving of this big break of a case. Moreover, the villain Drago Basta is so cold and heartless in everything that he does, I struggled to be captivated in moments that he was the driving force of the story.

As always Eskens’ background as a criminal defense attorney helped root this ridiculously twisted case that stretched across state lines in reality and in all honestly, this writing style was probably one of the only reasons I was able to finish this book. Although I am grateful to now have the background of what happened to Alexander that I needed before picking up The Heavens May Fall, I don’t think was Eskens’ best work. The Life We Bury and The Heavens May Fall were far superior in my opinion. That being said, I hope that we haven’t seen the last of Eskens and the wonderful characters that he creates and I look forward to reading anything he writes in the future. Stay tuned for my review of The Heavens May Fall in the next few days and as always, let me know your thoughts on this book or anything that you’re reading in the comments below.

3.5 out of 5 stars 

25614426-1.jpg

Leave a Reply

